The Sky is My Limit


Forever optimistic, like our ancestors before us, I often search the skies for hidden answers.  Continually taking photographs of the expressive dome above us, I think I have too many but can’t seem to stop.  Oddly, I am afraid to fly.  After examination and pondering I think it’s more a case of man-made mechanical items I fear, rather than the height or space itself.  Calgary July sunset #2

A few years ago I even went to NAV Canada in Cornwall and took a six-week course on the clouds and skies overhead. I see things in the colors and formations of the clouds and call them signs.

Does anyone else read signs for our expressive skies?   ...sailors take warning.

6 thoughts on “The Sky is My Limit

  1. That course sounds like fun! My dad was a farmer, and he always watched the sky. He understood after years of observation, what the skies were bringing. I often wish I had more time to be outside to have a better understanding of the clouds like he did. It is weird to be so disconnected from nature.

    • It’s hard if you work inside, but the only time I find well-being is after I sit outside in nature. When I was on the farm it was often the only way I could ‘clear my head’ from all the confusion. I hope you can get back – the connection helps me a lot. It’s one of the best stress-relievers I’ve ever found. 🙂

  2. Red sky at night, shepherd’s delight. Red sky in the morning, shepherd’s warning. That’s the only thing I ‘know’ about predicting weather. (And it’s not always accurate, is it?) But, like you, I love watching the sky, especially here in Alberta where it goes on forever; the rolling black clouds of a thunderstorm moving in, that wonderful Chinook arch in the middle of a cold snap heralding a break in the weather, our glorious sunrises and sunsets.

    • I agree diana – Alberta skies are one of the most impressive I’ve ever seen. I even saw the Northern Lights a few times here. Another ‘wonder’ I saw was the moon – huge, huge – coming up over the Gulf of Mexico waters in Corpus Christi. I was speechless.

  3. My mom always watched and kept track of the moon, she could tell by that when it was going to be warmer or colder. When I was little and visited my aunt in Saskatchewan (ok it’s not Alberta) but with the wide open plains the sunsets were beautiful!

    • I’m from the middle of nowhere Saskatchewan myself and I think that’s where my sky watching originated Darlene. When I took the course at NAV Canada (weather observing) my instructor was from Saskatchewan too. Like Lorraine says – farms seem to really watch the skies and weather.

Leave a Reply

