It Starts with You: – Helping Others


Most people like to help others.

But often we don’t realize if we neglect ourselves, we won’t have the necessary ability to help others.  Some people call it selfishness to think of yourself.  Many of us were taught not to be self-centered when we were young.  But after years I realize if I am not in a ‘good’ place, I am unable to concentrate or help others.

empty road

An empty road – can lead to beauty

Over the years I have learned of many tools to help me.  My first recollection was – regardless of how bad my situation was there is someone in a worse position.  When something horrible happened – I would think of others who, being in the same situation, had something more horrible to deal with.

When I was younger I went through a nasty divorce.  Many people can relate to that I’m sure.  My ex-husband’s last words to me were “I’ll see you in the gutter with nothing.”  And then he proceeded to create events that would make it so.

I was left with nothing. I was young and completely naive to the laws.  I ended up living with my wonderful sister and husband.  Without their help I don’t think I could have made it.  I got an office job and started to fix the broken pieces.  One of my duties was to pick up the mail from head-office.  A tunnel ran under the street from one building to the other.  I was grateful as the icy winds and snow of Edmonton are an experience I wasn’t thrilled with.                         

My sister and I – at Heritage Park in Calgary.

In the winter, the tunnel often was a place the homeless slept.  They never harmed me and I wasn’t afraid to walk the tunnel.  Then one day a thought filtered inside  – compared to their life, mine was easy. I had so much.

It was my first conscious realization of a life-lesson that often relieves my burdens.

One thought on “It Starts with You: – Helping Others

Leave a Reply

